|. Corris .|
- Peter Kazar
The model has been under research and construction for a period since 1987.
It represents the principal station of the Corris Railway as it was circa 1890. The railway itself ran from Machynlleth in Mid-Wales up the Dulas Valley to Corris where the line split with a horse worked branch running up the slate quarries of Upper Corris. The main line continued up the valley to reach a slate terminus at Aberllefenni where a further horse worked tramway continued to serve the Ratgoed quarry system.
Initially opened in 1859 as a slate only service operated by the quarry owners using horse power the railway was converted to steam traction in 1879 and an official passenger service was introduced in 1983. The legacy of horse traction is still present in the tram car style coaches and overall size of the stock. The coming of steam provoked an improvement as witnessed by the recent introduction of boogie coaches constructed from two of the earlier four wheel coaches on a new underframe.
The station is unique in narrow gauge railways in having an overall roof and the Site itself presents a compact self contained vista almost without equal on the narrow gauge railways of the UK.
Having decided upon the prototype and the scale, it follows that everything (with the exception of the figures) would have to be scratch built. Construction was not started until a full site survey had been carried out and a photographic record built up of existing features and of where there are missing historical photographs. Some of these are on display to the left of the layout.
Published by Chris MacKenzie for the
Virtual Narrow Gauge Model Railway Exhibition
This page not in a frame? Go to www.ngrail.co.uk